India will host the U-17 Women’s World Cup in 2020, FIFA confirmed

U-17 Women’s World Cup in 2020

The President of International Football Federation, Gianni Infantino announced, after the FIFA Council meeting in Miami, USA, that India will host the U-17 Women’s World Cup in 2020. The decision to award the rights to India was taken in FIFA Council meeting held on 15th March 2019. Its earlier version, U-17 Women’s World Cup 2018, was held in Uruguay when Spain defeated Mexico in the title decider. New Zealand and Canada finished third and fourth respectively. Check out the champions, runners-ups, third place holders, and fourth place holders for last six seasons of U-17 Women’s World Cup here.

Year Host Champions Score Runners-up Third place Fourth place
2008 New Zealand North Korea 2–1 (a.e.t.) United States Germany England
2010 Trinidad and Tobago South Korea 3–3 (a.e.t.)

5–4 pen

Japan Spain North Korea
2012 Azerbaijan France 1–1

7–6 pen

North Korea Ghana Germany
2014 Costa Rica Japan 2–0 Spain Italy Venezuela
2016 Jordan North Korea 0–0

5–4 pen

Japan Spain Venezuela
2018 Uruguay Spain 2–1 Mexico New Zealand Canada
2020 India

U-17 Women’s World Cup 2020

India scooped the rights after playing hosts to FIFA U-17 men’s World Cup. World Cup 2020 is going to be an opportunity of a lifetime for Indian football. It will help India’s national women’s team to leave a mark on the world’s football map.

“I would like to thank FIFA for keeping their trust in us and granting us the rights to host the tournament. I am also grateful to the Government of India and the State Governments for their support and providing us the necessary assurances which made winning this bid a reality,” AIFF President Praful Patel said. All India Football Federation realised that the football evolution in India is required to be moved forward. That was the key reason behind India’s bid for the U-17 Women’s World Cup. It is likely to change a lot of things in the country’s football environment.

Related posts

Leave a Comment